Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

South Texas Veterans Health Care System (STVHCS)

Menu
Menu
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Research Investigators

 

Research Investigators at South Texas Veterans Health Care System

More information for VA investigators affiliated with the University of Texas Health Science Center can be found at https://uthscsa.influuent.utsystem.edu

 

Investigator NameE-mail AddressKey Words/Research Interests
Adams, Sandra, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Sandra.Adamslobo@va.gov
adamssg@uthscsa.edu
COPD, anti-bacterial agents, lung, Education
Aguiar, Ricardo, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Ricardo.Aguiar@va.gov
aguiarr@uthscsa.edu
Lymphoma, MicroRNAs, NF-Kappa B
Ahuja, Seema, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Seema.Ahuja@va.gov
ahuja@uthscsa.edu
Nephrology, Dendritic Cells, CCR5 Receptors, HIV-1, Macrophage
Ahuja, Sunil, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, VA
Sunil.Ahuja@va.gov
ahujas@uthscsa.edu
HIV-1, Immune System, CCR5 receptors
Anstead,Gregory, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Gregory.Anstead@va.gov
anstead@uthscsa.edu
HIV, Prospective Studies, Safety
Anzueto, Antonio, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Antonio.Anzueto@va.gov
anzueto@uthscsa.edu
COPD, COPD exacerbation, pneumonia, ARDS, sepsis
Arevalo-Flechas, Lyda, PhD, RN
Research Investigator, VA
arevalol@uthscsa.edu Family Caregiving, Latino/Hispanics, Culture, Dementia caregiving 
http://www.researchgate.net/profile/Lyda_Arevalo-Flechas
Attridge, Russell, Pharm.D
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UIW
Russell.Attridge@va.gov Pneumonia, Health Outcomes, Epidemiology
Bai, Yidong, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
baiy@uthscsa.edu Mitochondria, Cancer, Aging-Related Degenerative Disease
Barnes, Jeffrey, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
barnesj@uthscsa.edu Diabetes, Kidney, Fibrosis, Animal Models
Bansal, Shweta, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
bansals3@uthscsa.edu Chronic Kidney Disease, Salt Sensitivity In The Community
Basler, Joseph, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Joseph.Basler@va.gov
basler@uthscsa.edu
Prostate, Biopsy, Cancer
Brown, Thomas, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
brownT2@uthscsa.edu Psychiatry
Bruder, Jan, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
bruder@uthscsa.edu /> Endocrinology, Osteoporosis
Cadena-Zuluaga, Jose, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Jose.Cadena-Zuluaga@va.gov
cadenazuluag@uthscsa.edu
Infectious Diseases, C Difficile, Infection Control
Chatterjee, Bandana, PhD
Research Career Scientist, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Bandana.Chatterjee@va.gov
chatterjee@uthscsa.edu
Vitamin D, Prostate Cancer, Liver
Chen, Xiao-Dong, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
chenx4@uthscsa.edu Aging, Extracellular Matrix, Mesenchymal Stem Cells, Tumor
Chilton, Robert, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Robert.Chilton@va.gov
chilton@uthscsa.edu
Hypertension, Carotid, Antihypertensive
Clark, Robert, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Robert.Clark10@va.gov
clarkra@uthscsa.edu
Inflammation, NADPH Oxidase, Parkinson’s, HIV Infection
Collins, Gregory, Ph.D
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
collinsg@uthscsa.edu Drug Abuse And Relapse, PTSD, Radiotelemetry, Rodent Models, Bath Salts
Dacus, Jennifer, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Jennifer.Dacus@va.gov Oncology, Chemical Trials
Datta, Paromita, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Paromita.Datta@va.gov Lymphoma, Lung Cancer, Prostate Cancer, Kidney Cancer, Liver Cancer
Dawes, Michael, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Michael.Dawes@va.gov
dawes@uthscsa.edu
Alcoholism, Quality Improvement, Collaborative Care
DeFronzo, Ralph, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Ralph.DeFronzo@va.gov
defronzo@uthscsa.edu
Diabetes Mellitus, Pathophysiology Of Type 2 Diabetes, Glucagon, Sodium-Glucose Transporter 2, Treatment Of T2DM
Dooley, David, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
David.Dooley2@va.gov C Difficile, Vaccination, Resident Communications
Dyer, Chris, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
dyerca@uthscsa.edu Nephrology, Exercise
Eapen, Blessen, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Blessen.Eapen2@va.gov Polytrauma, Rehabilitation, TBI
Eng, Tony, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
eng@uthscsa.edu Radiation Oncology
Espinoza, Sara, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Sara.Espinoza@va.gov
espinozas2@uthscsa.edu
Geriatrics, Longitudinal Studies, Glycoproteins, Frailtye
Feldman, David, MD
Research Investigator, VA
David.Feldman@va.gov Immunotherapy, T Cells, Lymphocytes Bacteria
Feldman, Marc D., MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Marc.Feldman@va.gov
feldmanm@uthscsa.edu
Heart, Pacemaker, Myocardium
Finley, Erin, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Erin.Finley@va.gov Evidence-Based Practices, PTSD, Medical Anthropology, Practice Change, Implementation
Fisher, Alfred, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Alfred.Fisher@va.gov
fishera2@uthscsa.edu
Clinical Geriatrics, C. elegans, Aging, Amino Acids, Mitochondria
Fox, Peter, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
fox@uthscsa.edu Brain Mapping, Meta-Analysis, Brain Imaging, Neurological
Frazer, Alan, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
frazer@uthscsa.edu Estradiol, Antidepressant, Aging
Freeman, James, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
freemanjw@uthscsa.edu Pancreatic Cancer, Experimental Therapeutics, Cancer Biology, Cancer Cell Plasticity
Frei, Christopher R., Pharm.D., M.Sc., FCCP, BCPS
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UT Austin
Adjoint Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
freic@uthscsa.edu Health Outcomes, Population Science, Pharmacotherapy, Infectious Diseases, Clinical Epidemiology
Galvan, Veronica, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
galvanv@uthscsa.edu Alzheimer’s Disease, Vascular Mechanisms of Alzheimer's Disease, Dementias, Aging
Ghosh-Choudhury, Goutam, PhD
Sr. Research Career Scientist, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Goutam.Ghosh-Choudhury@va.gov
choudhuryg@uthscsa.edu
Diabetic Nephropathy, Signal Transduction, microRNAs, Tumor Suppressor Proteins
Ghosh-Choudhury, Nandini, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
choudhury@uthscsa.edu Bone Remodeling, Adenovirus, Enzymes
Haile, David, MD
Research Investigator, VA
David.Haile@va.gov Transplantation, Autologous, Hematopoietic Stem Cells Data Collection, Bone Marrow Transplantation
Hart, Peter, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
pjh@biochem.uthscsa.edu Schistosomiasis, X-Ray Diffraction, Drug Design
Hernandez, Javier, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
hernandezj7@uthscsa.edu Urology, Prostate Cancer
Ikeno, Yuji, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
ikeno@uthscsa.edu Aging, Age-Related Pathology, Oxidative Stress, Cu/Znsod
Jaramilo, Carlos, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Carlos.Jaramilo@va.gov Traumatic Brain Injury, Aging, Clinical Neuroscience
https://cenc.rti.org/
Kamat, Amrita, PhD
Deputy ACOS/Research, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Amrita.Kamat@va.gov
kamat@uthscsa.edu
Lipid and Glucose Metabolism, NAFLD, Diabetes, Aging and Fetal Development, Beta Adrenergic Receptors
Kasinath, Balakuntalam, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Balakuntalam.Kasinath@va.gov
kasinath@uthscsa.edu
Obesity, Insulin Signaling, Aging Extracellular Matrix, Diabetes
Kellogg, Dean, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Dean.KelloggJr@va.gov
kelloggd@uthscsa.edu
Spinal Cord Injry, Thermoregulation, Blood Fkow, Anti-ging Medications, Rapamycin, Acarbose
Kersh, Sean, DPM
Research Investigator, VA
Sean.Kersh@va.gov Podiatory
Kraus, Stephen, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
krauss@uthscsa.edu Urology, Urogenic Bladder Diseases
Krejci-Manwaring, Jennifer, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Jennifer.Krejci-Manwaring@va.gov Dermatology
Kumar, Addanki Pratap, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
kumara3@uthscsa.edu Prostate Cancer, Chemoprevention, Nexrutine/td>
Kundrotas, Leon, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Leon.Kundrotas@va.gov Gastroenterology, Endoscopy/Colonoscopy Complications
Lanham, Holly, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
lanham@uthscsa.edu Orgnizational Theory, Complexity Science, Information Management, Knowledge Management, Qualitative Researh Methods
http://hollylanham.com
Lewiz-Habib, Samy, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Samy.Lewiz@va.gov
habib@uthscsa.edu
Diabetes, Kidney Cancer, DNA Damage/Repair Pathways, Tumor Suppressor Genes
Leykum, Luy, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Luci.Leylum@va.gov
leykum@uthscsa.edu
Complexity Science, Hospital Care Sensemaking, Inpatient Teams
Li, Senlin MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Senlin.Li@va.gov
lis1@uthscsa.edu
Parkinson's Disease, Stem Cells Trnsplantation
Liang, Qinghua, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Qinghua.Liang@va.gov Neurology, Parkinson's Disease
Liss, Michael, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
liss@uthscsa.edu Prostate and Kidney Cancer, Inflammation, Trauma, MRI
Lodge, Daniel, PhD
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
lodged@uthscsa.edu Interneuron Transplants, Schizophrenia, Autism, In Vivo Electropysiology, Optogenetics
Malave, Adriel, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Adriel.Malave@va.gov
malave@uthscsa.edu
Pneumonia, Intensive Care, Community
Marceaux, Janice C., PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Janice.Marceaux@va.gov Neuropsychology, Aging, Dementia, Cognition, Neurobehavioral
Maselli, Diego, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Diego.Maselli@va.gov
masellicacer@uthscsa.edu
Pulmonary
McGeary, Cindy, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
mcgearyc@uthscsa.edu PTSD, Pain
McGeary, Don, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Donald.McGeary@va.gov
mcgeary@uthscsa.edu
PTSD, Pain
McMains, Kevin, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Kevin.McMains@va.gov Otolaryngolo
Morilak, David, PhD
Professor, UTHSCSA
morilak@uthscsa.edu Animal Models, Cognition, Depression, Neuropsychopharmacolgy, Prefrontal Cortex, PTSD, Stress
Musi, Nicolas, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Nicolas.Musi@va.gov
musi@uthscsa.edu
Diabetes, Insulin Resistance, Exercise, Aging
Nambiar, Anoop, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Anoop.Nambiar@va.gov
nambiar@uthscsa.edu
Interstitial Lung Diseases, Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, Community Outreach
Noel, Polly, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
noelp@uthscsa.edu Health Psycholoyg, Aging, Chronic Disease
O'Connor, Jason, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Jason.Oconnor@va.gov
oconnorj@uthscsa.edu
Neuroinflammation, Microglia, Kynurenine Metabolism, Mental Health, Transgenic Mice
Oliveros, Rene, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
oliveros@uthscsa.edu Hypertension, Ambulatory BP Monitoring, Arterial Elasticity
 Orr, Miranda, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Instructor/Research Barshop Institute
orrm3@uthscsa.edu Investigate the Mechanisms Linking tau Aggregation, Cellular Senescence, Neurodegeneration and Cognitive Decline
Panday, Manoj, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Manoj.Panday@va.gov
panday@uthscsa.edu
Cardiac, Defibrillator, Implant
Patterson, Thomas, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Thomas.Patterson@va.gov
patterson@uthscsa.edu
Infectious Disease, Fungi, Screening
Peters, Jay, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
peters@uthscsa.edu Asthma, Develpment of Ihaled Medications, Notuberculsis Mycobacteria, Mycoplasma
Peterson, Alan, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
petersona3@uthscsa.edu Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Insomnia, Tobacco Cessation, Weight Management, Pain Management, Tourette Syndrome
Pham, Son, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Son.Pham2@va.gov
phams@uthscsa.edu
Lipids, Coronary, Catheterization
Pounds, Lori, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
poundsl@uthscsa.edu Venos Disease, Vascular Access, Education
Pugh, Jacqueline, MD
ACOS/Researc, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Jacqueline.Pugh@va.gov Hospital Readmissions, Health Services Research, Organiztional Change
Pugh, Mary Jo, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
MaryJo.Pugh@va.gov
pughm@uthscsa.edu
Traumatic Brain Injury, Pharmacoepidemilogy, Long Term Outcome
Ran, Qitao, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
ran@uthscsa.edu Alzheimer, Dementia, Mitochondria
Ratcliffe, Temple, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
ratcliffe@uthscsa.edu Interprofessional Education, Collaborative Care/td>
Restrepo, Marcos, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Marcos.Restrepo@va.gov
restrepom@uthscsa.edu
Translational Science in Respiratory Infections
Roache, John, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
roache@uthscsa.edu Drug Abuse, Addiction, PTSD, Clinical Pharmacology
Royall, Donald R., MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Donald.Royall@va.gov
royalld@uthscsa.edu
Brain, Dementia, Traumatic Injury
 Salinas, Felipe, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Senior Research Scientist Research Imaging Institute
salinasf@uthscsa.edu Neuroimaging and Neuroscience
Salmon, Adam, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Adam.Salmon@va.gov
salmona@uthscsa.edu
Glucose Metabolism, Aging, Rapamycin, Rodent and Non-Human Primate Models
Sanchez, Marvin, DPM
Research Investigator, VA
Marvin.Sanchez@va.gov" Podiatory
Savu, Michelle, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Michelle.Savu@va.gov Nutrition, Diverticulitis, Obesity
Sayre, Naomi, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA 
sayre@uthscsa.edu   Neurodegenerartion, Stroke, Aging, Cholesterol Homeostasis Energy Metabolism
Shireman, Paula K., MD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Paula.Shireman@va.gov
shireman@uthscsa.edu
Extremity Vascular Injuries, MicroRNA, Skeletal Muscle Regeneration, Angiogenesis and Arteriogenesis
Soni, Nilam, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Nilam.Soni@va.gov
sonin@uthscsa.edu
Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Ultrasound-Guided Procedures, Health Servies
Strong, Randy J., PhD
Sr. Research Career Scientist, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
strong@uthscsa.edu Aging, Parkinson's Disese
Taylor, Barbara, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Barara.Taylor5@va.gov
taylorb4@uthscsa.edu
HIV and Chronic Cardiovscular Comorbidity, HIV Clinical Outcomes, and Telehealth
Tio, Fermin, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Fermin.Tio@va.gov
tio@uthscsa.edu
Pathology, Atherosclerosis, Vascular Stents
Trbovich, Michelle, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Michelle.Trbovich@va.gov
trbovichm@uthscsa.edu
SCI, Sweat, Heat Stroke, Vsodilation
Tripathy, Devjit, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Devjit.Tripathy2@va.gov
tripathy@uthscsa.edu
Glucose Metabolism, Tratment and Pathophysilogy of T2DM, Testosterone
Wagner, Brent, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
Brent.Wagner@va.gov
wagnerb@uthscsa.edu
Fibrosis, Bone Marrow, Gadolinium
Walter, Christi, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
walter@uthscsa.edu Hepatoellular Carcinoma, Mitochondria, DNA, Aging, Diabetes
Wang, Chen-Pin, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Assistant Professor, UTHSCSA
Chen-Pin.Wang@va.gov
wangc3@uthscsa.edu
Big Data Analyses, Model Validation, Statistial Modeling of Longitudinal Studies
Weiner, Marc, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
weiner@uthscsa.edu Tuberculosis, Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, Clinical Trials
Wholey, Michael, MD, MBA
Research Investigator, VA
Specialist UTHSCSA
Michael.Wholey@va.gov Peripheral Arterial Disease (PAD), Carotid Occlusive Diisase, Hepatic Oncology
Wu, Weiran, MD
Research Investigator, VA
Weiran.Wu@va.gov Alcohol and Substance Use, Depression, Schizophrenia
Yeh, Chih-Ko, PhD, BDS
Research Investigator, VA
Professor, UTHSCSA
Chih-Ko.Yeh@va.gov
yeh@uthscsa.edu
Aging, Salivary Gland, Stem Cells
Zang, Mengwei, MD, PhD
Research Investigator, VA
Associate Professor, UTHSCSA
zang@uthscsa.edu Nutrient Sensing, Lipid Metabolism, Obesity, Diabetes, Fatty Liver Disease